



June 3, 2020

#### **Via Electronic Communication**

The Honorable Rodney Davis 1740 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative Davis:

Aimed Alliance is a nonprofit health policy organization that works to protect and enhance the rights of health care consumers and providers. Patients Rising Now is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to advocating for the rights of patients with chronic and life-threatening illnesses.

We wanted to thank your office for meeting with us in February to discuss the issue of copay accumulator programs. As you may recall, on March 9, 2020, you and your cc'ed colleagues signed a letter to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), expressing concern over the 2021 Notice of Benefit and Payment Parameters (NBPP) proposed rule, which provides health plans with broad authority to implement copay accumulator programs. On behalf of patients throughout the country, we wanted to sincerely thank you for sending that letter and provide you with an update on the status of the rule.

As you may remember, copay accumulator programs are policies that prevent the value of a drug manufacturer's coupon from counting toward a patient's deductible and maximum out-of-pocket limit. Last year, HHS implemented NBPP 2020, a patient-friendly policy that would have only allowed health plans to adopt copay accumulators when both a brand and generic medication were available. NBPP 2020 was crafted to incentivize patients to use lower cost medications only when such medications were available. It was developed to strike a balance between the interests of health plans and pharmaceutical manufacturers without unreasonably penalizing patients for relying on financial assistance. In contrast, NBPP 2021 would limit patients' access to medications even when there are no cheaper alternatives available, putting their health at risk and potentially increasing costs to the health system.

The 2021 NBPP final rule was <u>released</u> this month. Unfortunately, despite your letter, the 2021 NBPP final rule does not contain the requested cost-sharing protections for patients.

Millions of American across the country rely on cost-sharing assistance to afford their medications. Such assistance is only helpful if it can be counted toward patients' deductibles or maximum out-out-pockets limits. Without such protections, when the assistance runs out, patients are left in the original position of not being able to afford their medication. This is especially problematic during the COVID-19 pandemic when unemployment rates are dramatically increasing every week, and individuals are struggling more than ever to afford their medications. As such, we encourage you to send another letter to HHS asking the agency to revert back to the protections found in the NBPP 2020 for at least the 2021 plan year while the economy stabilizes in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Thank you again for your efforts that you have taken on behalf of patients, and please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or concerns.

## Sincerely,

## Stacey L. Worthy Aimed Alliance

# Terry Wilcox Patients Rising Now

#### Cc:

Hon. Alma S. Adams, Ph.D.	Hon. Josh Gottheimer	Hon. Stacey E. Plaskett
Hon. Ralph Abraham	Hon. Jim Hagedorn	Hon. Mike Quigley
Hon. Brian Babin, D.D.S.	Hon. Kendra S. Horn	Hon. Guy Reschenthaler
Hon. Brendan F. Boyle	Hon. "Hank" Johnson	Hon. Lisa Blunt Rochester
Hon. Anthony Brindisi	Hon. John Joyce, M.D.	Hon. David P. Roe, M.D.
Hon. G.K. Butterfield	Hon. John Katko	Hon. Harley Rouda
Hon. Andre Carson	Hon. William R. Keating	Hon. Bobby L. Rush
Hon. Buddy Carter	Hon. Robin L. Kelly	Hon. Linda Sanchez
Hon. Yvette D. Clarke	Hon. Ann Mclane Kuster	Hon. Bradley S. Schneider
Hon. Bonnie Watson Coleman	Hon. Al Lawson	Hon. Kurt Schrader
Hon. Col. Paul Cook, Ret.	Hon. Barbara Lee	Hon. Debbie Wasserman
Hon. J. Luis Correa	Hon. Sheila Jackson Lee	Schultz
Hon. TJ Cox	Hon. Ted W. Lieu	Hon. Terri A. Sewell
Hon. Angie Craig	Hon. Sean Patrick Maloney	Hon. Albio Sires
Hon. Sharice L. Davids	Hon. Lucy McBath	Hon. Christopher H. Smith
Hon. Madeleine Dean	Hon. A. Donald McEachin	Hon. Darren Soto
Hon. Ted Deutch	Hon. Gregory W. Meeks	Hon. Abigail D. Spanberger
Hon. Brian Fitzpatrick	Hon. Stephanie Murphy	Hon. W. Gregory Steube
Hon. Bill Flores	Hon. Grace F. Napolitano	Hon. Steve Stivers
Hon. Bill Foster	Hon. Tom O'Halleran	Hon. Thomas S. Suozzi
Hon. Ruben Gallego	Hon. Jimmy Panetta	Hon. Eric Swalwell
Hon. Jimmy Gomez	Hon. Bill Pascrell, Jr.	Hon. David Trone
Hon. Vicente Gonzalez	Hon. Donald M. Payne, Jr.	Hon. Marc Veasey
Hon. Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S.	Hon. Scott Peters	